I want to ...


Our history is rooted in many different and unique institutions.
Augusta City Hospital, Gardiner General Hospital, Sisters Hospital - which later became Elizabeth Ann Seton Hospital - and Thayer Hospital each have a rich history that is part of the fabric of their communities and that of the Kennebec Valley.
What MaineGeneral will become through completion of the Alfond Center for Health/Thayer Center for Health project builds on what came before.
This evolutionary journey, which will span 124 years by the time the Thayer redesign is completed, includes the following milestones.
  • 1891: Augusta City Hospital incorporated.
  • 1898: Augusta's Kinsman House opens after fund raising.
  • 1900: Augusta’s St. Catherine School renovated; opens as hospital at current site.
  • 1909: Hospital renamed Augusta General Hospital.
  • 1912: Physicians establish Libby Hospital in Waterville.
  • 1913: Physicians partner with Sisters of Charity; expand Libby Hospital.
  • 1917: Dr. A.B. Libby plans private hospital in Gardiner.
  • 1918: Gardiner General Hospital opens as a community hospital.
  • 1924: Sister’s Hospital opens in Waterville.
  • 1928: Gardiner General Hospital destroyed by fire.
  • 1929: New Gardiner General Hospital opens.
  • 1930: Dr. Frederick Hill leads upset physicians to plan Waterville hospital.
  • 1931: Thayer Hospital opens.
  • 1943: Thayer Hospital reorganized as non-profit, community hospital.
  • 1951: New Thayer Hospital opens at current site.
  • 1963: Construction starts on new Elizabeth Ann Seton Hospital in Waterville.
  • 1964: Thayer expansion completed; Augusta General expansion opens.
  • 1968: Fund raising begins for new Gardiner General Hospital.
  • 1973: New Gardiner Hospital opens; Family Practice Residency established.
  • 1975: Seton and Thayer merge; form Mid-Maine Medical Center (MMMC).
  • 1980: Gardiner and Augusta General merge; form Kennebec Valley Medical Center (KVMC).
  • 1986: KVMC purchases Gray Birch and Glenridge.
  • 1987: Alzheimer’s Care Center opens in Gardiner.
  • 1990: MMMC opens Express Care.
  • 1997: Mid-Maine and Kennebec Valley Health Systems merge, form MaineGeneral Health (MGH).
  • 1999: MGH purchases HealthReach Network (HRN); Granite Hill Estates (GHE) construction begins.
  • 2000: New Augusta ORs and CCU open; GHE opens.
  • 2001: New Waterville ORs open; new Augusta lobby and endoscopy suite open.
  • 2002: Augusta's Cardiac Catheterization Lab opens; MGH acquires full ownership of GHE.
  • 2003: New Waterville OB unit and endoscopy suite open.
  • 2004: MGH Board of Directors adopts regional health care model.
  • 2005: Augusta and Waterville Imaging and Oncology expansions completed; number of inpatient Behavioral Health beds increased.
  • 2006: MaineGeneral becomes anchor tenant at Carlton Woolen Mill in Winthrop; GHE opens assisted living wing.
  • 2007: Augusta and Waterville Emergency Departments (EDs) expansions completed; MaineGeneral signs lease to become anchor tenant at Hathaway Creative Center; Harold Alfond Center for Cancer Care (HACCC) opens.
  • 2008: Augusta OB unit renovations completed; MGH Board unanimously votes for new regional hospital at HACCC site; MaineGeneral moves into FirstPark building in Oakland; MaineGeneral becomes anchor tenant at Hathaway Creative Center.
  • 2010: Certificate of Need (CON) approved for New Regional Hospital and Thayer Comprehensive Outpatient Center.
  • 2011: Elmwood Family Medicine and MGMC Express Care open in Waterville; Augusta's 15 Enterprise Drive facility opens; financing secured for New Regional Hospital/Thayer Comprehensive Outpatient Center project; $280 million in bonds sold and sale closed.